And that’s a wrap…for two days

We Made it Through Another Week

I know families do this, well, weekly but there are times when getting through seven days seems like a small miracle. I have learned to celebrate these things- small miracles- as they are often HUGE depending on your situation or lifestyle.

I finished my last week of summer classes. I’m now a Senior in college at the tender age of 34, and have a two day reprieve until Fall semester starts. I celebrated with a bowl of Cherry Chocolate Chip ice cream from Farr’s Ice Cream. This ice cream is utter amazingness- creamy and smooth cherry ice cream, chocolate shavings, and huge halves of maraschino cherries. Ah, the simple things in life. I may not get two A’s like I normally do in my classes but in my defense this has been a summer of adjustments. I’ll take the B’s and be okay with it. I did another DIY project by painting Laila’s old bookshelf (who received a new one courtesy of her grandparents) and giving it to Tessa. It went from oak to sparkling purple. Nothing a little spray paint and glitter clear coat can’t do!

tumblr_lqre0mlZEf1qdjkguo1_250

Audrey tried out for the volleyball team at school. This in itself is a small miracle. She’s never played volleyball on a team or in any other aspect than fulfilling the requirement in PE. Additionally, Audrey isn’t exactly what one would consider athletically inclined. But she stuck out 3 days of clinics, came home sore & bruised, and had a good attitude about it. She didn’t make the team, which I know she was disappointed, but she handled it quite well. Really well, actually, and I am happy she at least tried something new. She now wants to try out for basketball in November….stay tuned.

basketball

Laila took a quiz in math that was intended to gauge where everybody was as far as their math knowledge heading into 8th grade. She already knew 50% of the material! She was quite pleased with herself and I was happy she was feeling confident. She changed her ceramics class to Musical Production, so watch for her first leading role on Broadway 🙂

Broadway

Tessa only had 3 1/2 days of school this week but she’s off to a good start. Oh to be in 3rd grade again… This year she’ll not only be in choir but learning the recorder. You can’t imagine the excitement I feel inside about that *insert face palm here* I suppose this is a right of passage for both her and me. Besides, she’s my youngest. By the time she is in 7th grade Audrey will have graduated high school, and Laila will be Senior. Time is slipping through my fingers much faster than I anticipated.

Recorder%20Meme

All in all we’re just at normal right now. Normal is weird for me. Normal doesn’t feel right. I anticipate I will begin to embrace it, but when you’ve been through what my family and I have been through, normal is scary. You’re waiting for the bomb to drop almost all the time but you have to remind yourself that this is a new era, and to enjoy the normal as unfamiliar as it may seem.

**We are still fundraising for Audrey to receive her service dog. If you are so inclined to share, please do so! Just click the link above**

Leave a Reply

